Design Awards

2022 Submissions are Closed

Welcome to the AIA San Mateo Design Awards. Each year AIASMC recognizes excellence in architecture by members of the AIA. Entries are submitted within multiple categories, and winners are showcased throughout our website.

The AIA San Mateo County Design Awards recognizes the outstanding achievements in architecture and design. Submission is open to both AIA members and non members. Jury decisions will be based solely on the materials submitted.


  • Call for Entries: Wednesday, September 28, 2022
  • Submission Deadline: Wednesday, October 26, 2022
  • Awards Ceremony: Thursday, December 8, 2022


  • All Licensed Architects / Firms practicing within the United States are eligible to submit projects located within San Mateo County.
  • All Licensed Architects / Firms practicing or residing in San Mateo County are eligible to submit projects regardless of the project location.
  • If a firm has multiple offices, the chapter area office is eligible to submit projects regardless of the project location. The non-chapter area offices are eligible to submit projects located in San Mateo County only.
  • Open to both AIA San Mateo County members and non-members.
  • Projects must credit every substantial contributor.

Registration Fees

  • Members of AIASMC: $275 per entry category
  • Non-Members: $375 per entry category

All entry fees are non-refundable.

Entry Categories


The Architecture Award celebrates outstanding achievements in architecture regardless of budget, size, or style. Project types include but are not limited to commercial, civic, institutional, educational, healthcare, laboratory, hospitality, mixed-use, multi-family residential, new construction, and/or renovation / reuse / preservation


The Residential Award celebrates homes that illustrate excellence in design and demonstrate a refined sensibility. Entries must be single family residence, including but are not limited to new or remodel / addition, custom, prefab / modular home.


The Interior Award celebrates innovative and spectacular interior spaces that fulfills the true potential of a space and enhance our living experience. Project types included but are not limited to new construction, renovations, restorations, and preservation.


The People’s Choice Award celebrates design excellence and aims to educate and inspire the public by showcasing architecture projects either located in San Mateo County or designed by firms residing in San Mateo County. All submissions for 2022 Design Awards will be automatically eligible for People’s Choice Award. The public will vote on the projects and the project with the highest number of votes will be declared the winner.


Projects must have been completed since January 1, 2015. At the juror’s discretion, each award will honor multiple projects, featuring Citation, Merit, and Honor Award winners. Submissions will be judged on quality of design, resolution of the project or idea, energy and sustainability, innovation, equity, and social responsibility. Jury decisions will be based solely on the materials submitted. It is therefore important that submissions convey to the jury a full understanding of the project.

The AIA San Mateo Design Awards reserves the right to move entries to other categories if is clearly appropriate to do so.

Submittal Requirements

All Entry Submissions shall consist of three (3) parts:

1. Digital Graphics Presentation:

Download formatted PowerPoint from AIA SMC website. It must be completed by the applicant and accompany each entry submittal.

The digital images should thoroughly describe the project with interior and exterior photographs, floor plans, elevations, and context images. The Firm name or Architect shall not appear on any submittal graphics.

Presentation files shall be in the PDF format and should be less than 35 MB to accommodate email transfer and viewing.

2. Digital Concealed Information Form:

A digital “Concealed Information Form” will be provided on the AIASMC website. It must be completed by the applicant and accompany each entry submittal. This will not be shown to the Judges. This information is needed for our records and to properly recognize award winners. Note that the entrant must sign this form.

3. Common App:

AIASMC has adopted AIA California’s “Common App” as part of the submission requirements to help measure and record the metrics for sustainability and resiliency. Please be sure to use the current version of the Common App. Please note that some of the technical information requested on the Common App may require consultation with your engineer, and take this into account when preparing your submission.

2022 Jurors

Lisa Iwamoto

Sarina Bowen Kennerly, AIA

William Leddy, FAIA

Past Winners by Year